Runners Forum - Kick Runners banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
<p>Last night I ran in the Jerry Garcia Memorial 4.2mi race along the Charles River in Cambridge/Boston.  This is part of the "Let's Run" summertime monthly series put on by the Somerville Striders Athletic Club.  I've been doing these races for five years now with the first one being my first race ever.  In my 2nd ever race in 2005 (somehow just 4 months after "getting off the couch"), I PR'd at 38:41 pacing off someone who wanted to run the same pace as I did.  I haven't been able to break 39:00 since, my closest being 39:08 in 2007.  As the years have gone on, the races have gotten more popular meaning more people and a lot of congestion.  Also, being summer you don't know what kind of weather you are going to get but usually it's very warm and humid.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Last night was really no exception.  At race time it was 88F but thankfully the humidity that'd been oppressive early in the day had washed out to sea on a nice NW breeze.  The race was sold out as usual (I think it sold out in April) so it was very crowded.  One of the things that's changed this year that's really helped is they close one side of Memorial Dr. for the beginning of the race, removing one of the biggest bottlenecks.  Overall, it was a perfect night for a race.</p>
<p> </p>