Runners Forum - Kick Runners banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie and I can't decide which race to enter. I volunteered at an all-woman tri last summer and had my heart set on entering summer, but it looked like I was going to have a major schedule conflict.<br><br>
So, I did my research and picked out another race in mid-June. Now, it seems like there won't be a schedule conflict and the original race is still accepting entries. I can't decide what to enter! Don't say both -- I only want to enter one because I'm a total newbie. I trained for my first half-marathon last fall, but got injured and deferred to this October.<br><br>
Here are what I see as the positives/negatives for each. Let me know if you think there's deciding factor that I haven't thought of...<br><br>
#1-mid-June. Smaller race, shorter distances, and simpler with a pool swim. Early summer before travel committments. Negatives: up & down hills, less time to prepare.<br><br>
#2-late August. All woman; 40% first-timers. More time to prepare. Held at local park with many opportunities to go on run/bike routes. Negatives: lake swim, longer distances, concurrently training for Oct. half-marathon.<br><br>
No guarantees that I'll enter anything, but thanks for any help with this little dilemma.<br><br>
.......<br><a href="http://sjbmuse.blogspot.com/" target="_blank">http://sjbmuse.blogspot.com/</a>

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
#1-June 15 distances: 400meter swim - 14mi bike - 5K run<br><br>
#2-Aug. 24 distances: 0.62mi Swim - 17.5mi Bike - 3.4mi Run<br><br>
Half-marathon - Oct. 11<br><br>
Training: swim-approx. 1650 yds x 2/week with swim team; bike-45 min x 2/wk on trainer; run-10 miles/wk.

·
Registered
5,943 Posts
August..............more time to train, can train on course, and atmosphere sounds perfect for your first.<br><br>
Plenty of time between that and your half mary as well.

·
Registered
2,435 Posts