RR: Blockhouse Trail Run - KickRunners.com
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By jkaiser20

#1 of 6 Old 06-22-2015, 06:10 PM - Thead Starter
Special Member

Likes Earned: 50
Likes Given: 2
RR: Blockhouse Trail Run

I have all but disappeared from the daily threads lately, but I have been getting in a few miles. A colleague at work sent a flyer to me on Thursday for a 15k trail run on Saturday. That sounded perfect to me, since 9 miles was what I planned to run anyway. So that means I was going to race a distance that would be my longest run of the year. OK for a marathon, but not exactly the best practice for a shorter race. Oh well.

11th overall out of maybe 25?? Maybe 20?? no idea.
2nd age group (I think I was almost 10 minutes behind the other guy)

I have a lot of trail running experience, having raced all over Indiana a decade ago. And the majority of my long runs are on MTB trails when possible. So I have good confidence that I would have a fun day. Sure did!

The start was along a mowed path around a large field. As is usual for longer races, everyone got pretty well sorted out as far as I could tell before we dived into the woods for the first section of single track.

The trail went back and forth as it wound down the bottom of a river valley, which of course meant there would be some climbing. And there was. Hit the 3+ mile water stop feeling pretty good and drank two cups of water and enjoyed quick pleasantries with the volunteer. Around around for another 1.5 miles, then another water stop, then up up up. The main problem was that we were going up the opposite side we came down.