1Likes
  • 1 Post By ripvanracer

#1 of 6 Old 09-12-2016, 07:12 AM - Thead Starter
Special Member

Likes Earned: 23
Likes Given: 5
9-12 and following

Nice trail race Rip.

Laura was just wondering about you. Boys growing up fast. You're running well it seems.

I survived the 15k "race" this weekend. 6 miles this morning to start the week. Ran 38 miles last week and hoping for 40-45 this week.

Still hit and humid here. Shoes currently in front of fan drying.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 6 Old 09-13-2016, 08:44 PM
Special Member

Likes Given: 1
Nice to hear from you Laura. I spent a lot of time with my parents watching the Olympics this summer.
Looks like you're getting your mileage back up KS.
Haven't heard from Heme for a while.

Here is my race report from this past weekend.

I had been eyeing the Helvetia (WV) 10k Mountain Run for a few years, but the 5.5 hour drive made it a difficult decision. I had also been trying to win a local race held the same weekend the last couple years that I had won over 30 years ago. After two second places to the same guy who has now won it 7 years in a row, I decided to give up for now.

I left Friday night and drove to Parkersburg I finished the drive to Helvetia Saturday morning and got there in time to see all of the festivities. That included some shops selling local goods, an interesting parade, and authentic Swiss dancing and singing on the main stage. After that I went to the race director’s farm where he opened it up to any runners who wanted to camp out and enjoy a great cookout. Around 5:30, he took another runner and I on a countryside run that included gravel and paved road, trails, and open farmland with some fantastic views of the countryside.