My First "Official" 5K - KickRunners.com

#1 of 1 Old 10-29-2009, 06:19 PM - Thead Starter

Likes Earned: 0
Likes Given: 0
Written April 26, 2009 by robmckim2:
WOW, what a first time experience. I have a story, some comical and all true that is great for my first 5K race experience! WARNING: LONG POST!!

Here’s a little bit about the setting: My wife and 8 yr old son and I drove from Poplar Bluff to Rock Hill, Mo (about 3 hours drive) on Saturday, to pick up my pre-enrollment packet, number and t-shirt for the CASA 5K that took place this am, Sunday 4/26/09 0800 hrs. I expected a mostly flat, down and out course, according to the only info on the website. Upon arrival to P/U packets, I do the necessary documentation and ask about the course. They explain to me that there are some hills and give me the course directions…

So into the truck and off to drive the course...

At the very start I see a long hill, climbing UP for the first 1/4 mile or so (remember I'm a novice). I get over that hill and start down, I even said to my wife, "Well, at least I can get the hill part done in the beginning and can get my pace for the rest of the rest." HA-HA-HA! Once down the hill, we come to the first right hand turn. Once around the corner, guess what...ANOTHER HILL! Not even as small as the first one, it's much steeper and longer! Now at this point I'm like, "Man, when they say a few hills, they mean it!" But we drive on up and down to the 2nd right turn with a nice little flat spot and then....wait for it, wait for it....ANOTHER HILL!!! This last set of hills was a continuous grade UP until I got to the top of the darn thing to Manchester. The 3rd right turn and it looks all down hill from here to the finish lane, which is at least 3/4 of a mile, more or less. Now, that was just the DRIVING!